Skip to main content

Congressman Morgan McGarvey Celebrates Women’s History Month and Honors Louisvillians with Congressional Leadership Award

Gabriella Salazar
Social share icons

LOUISVILLE, KY (March 17, 2023) – Today, Congressman Morgan McGarvey (KY-03) hosted his inaugural Congressional Leadership Award ceremony, honoring 16 Louisvillians as part of Women’s History Month.


“As we celebrate Women’s History Month, we reflect on how far women have come and remember that women, especially women of color, still face barriers that we need to break down,” said Rep. McGarvey. “The women we’re honoring today are working to solve important issues facing our country, our Commonwealth, and our community. They have volunteered their time to help those less fortunate, are fierce advocates for Louisville’s immigrant communities, have fought for equality and civil rights for decades, have been the first to break a glass ceiling in Kentucky, and have committed themselves to making Louisville a better place to live. I’m honored to present my office’s Congressional Leadership Award to these outstanding leaders in the community.”


Congressman McGarvey honored the following:


  • Karina Barillas, Executive Director of La Casita Center
  • Carmellia Jackson-Hurley, Executive Director of Louisville Girls Leadership
  • Jennifer Moore, Founder of Moore Law Group, PLLC
  • Judge Denise Clayton
  • Ruby Hyde, Founder of Smoketown Heritage Festival
  • Hanna Yun, President of the Korean American Association of Kentuckiana
  • Rebecca Jackson, former Jefferson County Judge Executive
  • Jackie Floyd, civil rights activist
  • Maria Wilson, graduate of Family Scholar House
  • Nyree Clayton-Taylor, 2019 Kentucky Elementary Teacher of the Year
  • D’Angelia McMillan, Arielle Betts, Amina Garth, and Heavenly Garth, members of the Real Young Prodigy’s Program
  • Reba Doutrick, a leader in philanthropic causes
  • Elizabeth Wessels-Martin, CEO of the Center for Women and Families