Go vote


AFT Local 1360

A pair of Democratic officials sent early emails to the faithful today, urging them to vote in the primary.

Turnout is expected to be around 12.5 percent.

"Polls just opened for the Primary Election!" Kentucky Young Democrats President Clayton Brown announced in his email. 

"Check your polling location and review your ballot at www.govoteky.com," he urged, adding, "Polls are open until 6:00pm. If you are still in line at 6, STAY IN LINE! You will still be allowed to vote."(The website also works for Republicans and the voting rules apply to GOP primary voters, too.) 

"It’s a big day -- Primary Election Day 2019 -- and I’m writing to remind you to go vote today," state party chair Ben Self said in an email sent shortly before 7 a.m., EDT. "Polls are open in your area until 6 p.m. local time. If you’re in line at 6 p.m. you will get to vote."

Self hoped "that thousands of" Democrats "have already voted." He warned, "this year is too important to the future of our state to sit on the sidelines....Follow Kentucky Democrats (@kydems) and me (@bself) on twitter for our election night commentary!"

Democrats and Republicans are choosing their candidates for governor, lieutenant governor and constitutional offices. Four Democrats are vying for a chance to unseat GOP Gov. Matt Bevin (running mates are in parentheses): House Minority Rocky Adkins (Stephanie Horne), Attorney Gen. Andy Beshear (Jacqueline Coleman), former auditor Adam Edelen (Gill Holland) and Geoff Young (Joshua French).

Bevin, paired with state Sen. Ralph Alvarado, has a trio of challengers: State Rep. Robert Goforth (Mike Hogan), Ike Lawrence (James Anthony Rose) and William Woods (Justin Miller).

The Kentucky State AFL-CIO Executive Board, acting as the state COPE (Committee on Political Education) did not endorse anybody for governor or lieutenant governor. The panel will meet in Frankfort Thursday to vote on endorsements for all offices in the November 5 election--governor, lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, treasurer, auditor and agriculture commissioner.